Roasted Veggie Pizza

Tomatoes. I’ve bought 3 packages of grape tomatoes in as many weeks.

photo 2(24)

It’s like I don’t even know myself anymore.

Adding after every order, “no tomatoes, please!” was like, part of my identity. And now? GIVE ME ALL THE GRAPE TOMATOES EVER! Next thing you know, I’ll be asking for raw onion and cilantro.

Just kidding. That’d be a cold day in hell.

In other news, I poured an entire bottle of water into my lap last week on the bus. When I stood up and saw my pants, I thought to myself: 1. If I had peed my pants, wouldn’t I have noticed? 2. I think so, but I can’t be sure. Is it warm? Does it smell like pee? No and no. 3. Oh shit, culprit identified, there’s a water bottle in my laptop bag with a loose lid. 4. Did anyone see? Should I swear loudly and hold up the bottle of water so that everyone knows I am, in fact, potty trained? No. That’d be weird. Just, ya know, pull your coat around tighter and GET OUT OF HERE!

photo 1(24)

And this is why I shouldn’t not be forced to choose between public transportation and paying $13/day to park in downtown Seattle.

Weren’t we talking about grapes? Or tomatoes? Yes! That’s it, tomatoes! Roasted! On this pizza! Which was so easy! And so delicious for a warm, sunny, spring evening. With sangria. Which isn’t really sangria at all, more like red wine over ice and topped off with orange juice. Does that count? Please say yes.

Ingredients:

  • Pre-Made Pizza Crust (I used Trader Joe’s Garlic & Herb crust — it’s ah-mazing)
  • 2 Tablespoons olive oil
  • Kosher salt and cracked black pepper
  • 1 cup cubed butternut squash (peeled, seeds removed)
  • 1 cup sliced mini portabella mushrooms
  • 1 cup grape tomatoes
  • 4 Tablespoons Garlic Sauce (I used Trader Joe’s Many Clove Garlic Sauce)
  • 1/2 – 1 cup shredded (or sliced) fresh mozzarella cheese

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400°F.
  2. Place cubed butternut squash, mushrooms and grape tomatoes on a baking sheet. Drizzle with olive oil, salt and pepper. Roast for 15-20 minutes, stirring occasionally, or until vegetables are tender. Remove from oven.
  3. Increase oven heat to 425°F. Place pizza crust on a cookie sheet or baking stone. Bake for 5 minutes. Remove from oven.
  4. Spread garlic sauce over top surface of crust. Top with roasted vegetables then with cheese. Bake for 10 minutes, or until cheese is melted and crust is a tender, golden brown.

 

2 thoughts on “Roasted Veggie Pizza

    • I usually go for the whole wheat as well, but everyone else must have had the same idea — they were sold out of it! Oh well, good excuse to use the garlic & herb one 🙂 Hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

