Grandma Lily’s Passover Brisket

Hello there lovelies! I hope you’re hungry, because one of my best friends in the whole wide world is guest-blogging on here today, and she’s sharing her grandmother’s one and only brisket recipe.

I’ve been lucky enough to eat this brisket twice in the past 6 odd years of our friendship, and each time, it’s like Christmas morning in my mouth. Which I suppose is a terrible analogy, considering she makes it for Passover. Which is a Jewish holiday. Cut me some slack, y’all know that if I’m comparing something to Christmas, it is a compliment of the highest order. Rachel, take it away!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Hello Peonies & Pomegranaters! Elizabeth and I have a tradition of celebrating each other’s religious holidays together – let me tell you, it’s serious business. I have, for the most part, spent every Easter and Christmas for the last 5 years with Elizabeth’s family, and she has been with me through the vast majority of the last 5 years of Hanukkahs and Passovers – No, those aren’t the only two Jewish holidays, but making her dress up with Evil Haman for Purim, sit through services with me on Rosh Hashanah (though she’s offered) or fast with me on Yom Kippur seemed a bit cruel.

Passover is my favorite Jewish holiday (mostly because it involves lots and lots of delicious foods – go figure) and with my family not being local, I hosted my own Passover dinner with girlfriends. For those who aren’t familiar with the celebration, Passover in a nutshell:

Pesach, or Passover, is the celebration of the ancient Israelites’ exodus from slavery in Egypt. It’s a celebration of freedom and resilience – a night to relax and rejoice with loved ones and friends – and, of course, it’s a time to eat really, really good food.  What’s unique about Passover as opposed to other Jewish holidays is that it is observed with a symbolic meal called a Seder on the first night at sundown.  Seder in Hebrew means “order,” referring to the specific order of foods we eat to commemorate the Israelite’s journey.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

(forgive the bluriness, it’s an iPhone)

You’ve probably heard of one of the foods you’d eat at a Seder…it’s said that the night the Israelites were freed from slavery, they left in such haste that they did not have time for the bread in their ovens to rise, and therefore all they had to eat on their journey through the vast dessert was unleavened bread, which we now call Matzah.

matzo-balls

Matzo Balls

Every family has their own Passover traditions, but I personally love to make brisket, mashed potatoes, green beans and matzo ball soup.  It makes enough food to feed an army and I have leftovers for the entire week and never have to even look at a bagel or baguette! So without further ado, I present my Grandmother Lily’s famous Brisket recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 4 lb Brisket
  • 3 Jars, Heinz Chili Suace
  • 3 jumbo onions
  • 2-3 Packages of pre-sliced white mushrooms

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350. Trim fat from brisket (there’s usually quite a lot). Slice onions – there’s not really a bad way to do this
  2. Throw the meat in a aluminum foil lined pan (I suggest using heavy duty aluminum foil). Top the brisket with the onions and mushrooms. Dump the jars of chili sauce on top and make sure all of the onions, mushrooms and meat is coated in the sauce. Take one of the jars and fill it half way with water and, go ahead, splash that on there too.
  3. Cover in foil and bake for 5 hours. Uncover for the last hour or so to reduce and thicken some of the extra fluid.
  4. After 5 hours it should fall apart when you stick a fork in it. Serve and enjoy!

Yep. It’s that easy.

Enjoy and Chag Sameach (Happy belated Passover) everyone!
-Rachel

Yields: 4-6 servings

Recipe from: Grandma Lily

Leave a Reply

