Green Smoothie for Beginners

Wait, what? You want me to put WHAT in my breakfast smoothie?

photo(18)

That was pretty much my reaction the first time a friend told me to try putting kale and spinach in my breakfast smoothies because “you just can’t taste it at all”. ‘Bullllll s@$%@*’, I thought to myself. That’s disgusting and not natural and why in the world would I want to drink something GREEN? Unless it’s Saint Patrick’s Day. In that case, give me ALL THE GREEN DRINKS EVER.

But. Wait. Actually…this tastes pretty good. And pretty refreshing. And I really didn’t want to hop on the whole #greenjuice #greensmoothie #fitfam #workout #healthy #allnatural #organic #bikiniseasoniscoming bandwagon…but alas, here I am. Because not only are these smoothies really good, but they make me FEEL really good. My skin and nails are already looking better, I don’t want to fall asleep at my desk in the afternoons thanks to low energy, and my digestive system is, shall we say, back on track?

And if you really want to be an overachiever, you can blend one up for breakfast and pour the leftovers in a mason jar or to-go cup and bring it to work for lunch. With a side of french fries.

Ingredients:

*They say the best formula for green smoothies is as follows: 2 cups leafy greens, 2 cups liquid base, and 3 cups of fruit. Feel free to play around with the recipe below and alter according to your tastes!

  • 1 cup spinach
  • 1 cup kale
  • 2 cups coconut water (you could also use coconut milk, almond milk, regular milk, water, etc.)
  • 1 small to medium frozen banana
  • 1/2 apple
  • 1/2 pear
  • 1/4 cucumber
  • 1/4 inch piece of peeled ginger
  • frozen berries/mangoes/grapes, if desired — note: if you use frozen berries, they will probably throw off the color of your “green” smoothie. Don’t fret. It may look like you’re drinking frozen manure, but it’s still delicious
  • protein powder, if desired

Instructions:

If you’re not lucky enough to own a Vitamix, that sucks. And you should probably buy one so you don’t have to blend in phases. I’m going to be really sad when my roomie and I split up and she gets the Vitamix in the divorce. Because it’s hers. In the meantime, I’d recommend blending your leafy greens with the liquid base first, then adding the fruit. Nobody wants to see chunks of spinach floating around in their drink, no matter HOW #fitfam you think you are.

Yields: 2-3 smoothies, depending how big your glasses are

Recipe from: Roomie #1

Leave a Reply

