Jessica’s Lemony Fresh Homemade Hummus

Remember a while back when I made that all trashed up hummus with loads of delicious toppings mixed in?

photo(17)

Well, I did it again. Except this time, roomie #1 made her world-renowned (yes, I’m exaggerating. but only a little.) hummus for us to use as a base. Sweet mother of God, I ate my weight in hummus. And then I looked in the mirror and realized that I could pose for maternity pictures. With my food baby. My illegitimate, fatherless food child.

The other thing about this hummus is you’re probably wondering why’d you make a hummus from scratch when you could just buy it at the store. I don’t really have a good answer for that. Especially when chickpeas are the SINGLE MOST DIFFICULT ITEM EVER TO FIND IN A STORE. Not that I’m still bitter about the 10 minutes I spent lost in the canned vegetable aisle, wondering what I was doing with my life.

Did you know chickpeas also go by the name of garbanzo beans? Which are stored not near the green beans, string beans, or any other type of “bean” and “pea”, but actually by the chili beans? Yeah. Me neither.

Lessons learned from this hummus: 1. I love homemade hummus. It’s fresh and delicious and has way more flavor than store-bought hummus. 2. I hate buying ingredients for said hummus.

I hope you have better luck than I did.

Ingredients:

  • 1 (15 ounce ) can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1 medium garlic clove, minced or pressed through a garlic press
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • Pinch cayenne pepper
  • 3 tablespoons juice from 1 large lemon – go easy on the lemon if you’d prefer a more subtle lemon flavor
  • 1/4 cup tahini
  • 1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1/4 cup water.

Instructions:

Combine all ingredients in a food processor. Blend for approx 40 seconds and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes to let the flavors get married and have babies.

Recipe from: The ever fabulous roomie #1, Jessica (original source unknown)

One thought on “Jessica’s Lemony Fresh Homemade Hummus

Leave a Reply

