Creamy Pesto Tortellini with Broccoli

Holy. Sh$@*&^%!

Processed with VSCOcam

This sauce…rocked my world. You see, I’m getting ready to move and have been slowly packing my apartment up + trying to clean out the fridge/freezer (hence it being a little quiet ’round here) and I had some of that late-summer pesto I made still sitting in the freezer. This is how the conversation with myself went:

Ugh, I still have that plastic container of pesto left. I don’t even have any ideas of how to use it. It’s probably not even still good, since I froze it 5 months ago. I should just throw it away. Plus I really don’t want to wash out the plastic container. <throws container in garbage> I wonder if anyone would notice that I just threw away a perfectly good container full of pesto. Yes, someone would definitely notice. <removes container from garbage> FINE. I’ll let it thaw in the fridge and MAYBE I’ll cook with it. But probably not. Will probably still throw away.

My. God. I am SO glad I didn’t throw this away. It was incredible and comforting and warmed me from the inside out. Seriously, restaurant-quality, amaze-balls good. I mean sure, it’s made up almost entirely of heavy cream. But it has broccoli! And broccoli cancels out heavy cream! Fact.

Processed with VSCOcam

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup pesto, preferably homemade
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • (a generous) 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese, plus more for topping
  • 2 cups steamed broccoli (roughly 2 small crowns)
  • 1 teaspoon freshly ground pepper, or to taste
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt, or to taste
  • 12 oz. cooked tortellini — I prefer the Cucina Fresca brand, but use whatever floats your boat

Instructions:

  1. Prepare tortellini according to package directions. Set aside.
  2. Steam broccoli using your method of choice.
  3. Simmer heavy cream mixed with pesto in a skillet until slightly thickened. Add cheese. Just before serving, toss with tortellini and broccoli, top with more fresh Parmesan, and enjoy!

Yields: technically 4 servings, more like 3 if you eat much as I do

Recipe adapted from: Food Network

One thought on “Creamy Pesto Tortellini with Broccoli

Leave a Reply

