Welcome Fall: Moist Pumpkin Bread

Moist. I hate that word. A lot. And I can’t believe I just used it in the title to this post.

Oh well. It’s not like I could call it “Wet Pumpkin Bread” or “Opposite of Dry Pumpkin Bread”. Well, I suppose I could, but it would be weird and you would think I’m even crazier than you already do. So I’m sticking with moist.

photo 2

It’s officially fall — the season of boots and scarves and hot cider and pumpkins and football and leaves. From now until December 26th is far and away my favorite time of year, and to celebrate, I had to make a couple fresh loaves of pumpkin bread. Nothing, and I do mean nothing, warms my heart and puts a smile on my face like a rainy day outside, a fire going inside, and the smell of pumpkin bread baking in the oven.

Ingredients:

  • 1 (15 ounce) can pumpkin puree
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup apple sauce
  • 2 cups white sugar
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease two 9-inch loaf pans. Alternatively, you can do 7 or 8-inch pans and then put the rest in muffin tins (this is what I did.)
  2. In a large bowl, mix together pumpkin puree, eggs, oil, apple sauce, vanilla and sugar until well blended. In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, pumpkin pie spice, cloves and ginger. Stir the dry ingredients into the pumpkin mixture until just blended. Pour into the prepared pans.
  3. For bread loaves, bake about 50 minutes and for muffins, bake about 40 minutes. Loaves are done when toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. And remember, it’s better to take them out a minute too early than a minute too late! They’ll continue to cook in the pan even once you’ve removed them from the oven.

*This recipe freezes well, so I’d recommend baking both loaves (make sure to let them cool completely) and then freezing one in a zip lock bag for later use.

Yields: 2 9-inch loaves

Recipe adapted from: All Recipes

4 thoughts on “Welcome Fall: Moist Pumpkin Bread

  1. I made the recipe today. I doubled the amount of ground cloves (1 teaspoon) and put the mix into four (4) 7 inch pans then sprinkle some pumpkins seeds on top and to the oven for 45 minutes. The bread is delicious, it really tastes like the Starbucks pumpkin bread. This is a keeper, thanks for posting

  2. I made this today. It was so moist and good. I made it in 2 loaf pans. My pans were so full that the next time I make it I will use a couple mini loaf pans, too. It took about 1 hour and 15 minutes due to them being so full. By baking them so long the ends got a little hard…but still good. I did use parchment paper so I knew it would come right out to cool. I definitely would use parchment paper again. This was a trial run for thanksgiving so I have my recipe ready to go. Thanks for posting such a nice moist, sweet bread/ cake,,,,just the kind I love.

Leave a Reply

