Chicken Pad Thai

Pad Thai was one of those foods that absolutely, 100% disgusted me until I had actually tried it. Disclaimer: I grew up in a small, farming town with a dad who is definitely a meat and potatoes type of guy, so you tell me how often you think he requested Vietnamese food for dinner.

Is Pad Thai Vietnamese? Asian. Let’s just call it Asian. (Editor’s note: It has been brought to my attention that Pad THAI would, in fact, be Thai food. I can always count on my readers to be my brains when they seem to otherwise have gone missing.)

photo(5)

Then I went to college, and one night, sometime around two in the morning, (you be the judge as to how sober I might have been), my roommate offered me a bite of her pad thai. I. Was. Hooked. And then of course, I had to have it the next day to be sure it wasn’t the Busch Light beer (or something equally as classy) telling me I liked it. Nope, it wasn’t — I loved it. So much so, in fact, that I haven’t been able to eat it for a couple years post-college because I was so tired of it. But now? I have a homemade version. And in my opinion? It kicks ass. So eat it drunk, eat it sober, whatever you do, just eat it. And enjoy.

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb. boneless skinless chicken breast
  • 3/4 pound bean sprouts
  • 6 ounces pad thai rice noodles
  • 4 eggs
  • salt
  • 4 1/2 tablespoons lime juice
  • 4 1/2 tablespoons ketchup
  • 1 1/2 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup fish sauce
  • 1 heaping tablespoon peanut butter
  • 3 tablespoons peanut oil
  • 1 tablespoon evoo
  • 1 tablespoon minced garlic
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons red pepper flakes (less if you don’t like spicy food)
  • 2 cups grated carrots
  • 2/3 cup chopped peanuts
  • 1 cup green onions cut into 1-inch pieces

Instructions:

  1. Bring a pot of water to a boil. Blanch the bean sprouts in boiling water for approximately 30 seconds, remove, and drain well. When the water returns to a boil, add noodles. Cook for 3 to 5 minutes until tender but firm; drain and rinse under cold water.
  2. Season your chicken breast with salt and pepper. Add a tablespoon or two of evoo to a frying pan, and fry the chicken until it is cooked through, about 4-6 minutes on each side, depending how thick the breast is. Cut chicken into small strips. Set aside.
  3. Beat the eggs with a pinch of salt in a small bowl. Stir together the lime juice, ketchup, brown sugar, peanut butter, and fish sauce in a separate bowl; set aside.
  4. Heat the oil in a wok or large skillet over medium-high heat. Fry the garlic for a few seconds. Add the pepper flakes and carrot, and cook for one minute, then remove. Add the beaten egg, and gently scramble. When the eggs have set, pour in the chicken, carrots, sauce, bean sprouts, noodles, peanuts, and green onion; toss together.

Yields: 4-6 servings

Recipe adapted from: All Recipes

3 thoughts on “Chicken Pad Thai

Leave a Reply

