5-Minute Basil Pesto

Biggest pet peeve EVER? Needing 1 tablespoon of an herb THAT YOU CAN ONLY BUY IN QUANTITIES LARGE ENOUGH TO FEED AN ARMY.

photo 2

That is not really my biggest pet peeve ever. But it makes my story more dramatic. I don’t even know what my biggest pet peeve ever is. Ugly feet? People who eat noisily? People who drive the speed limit (or slower) in the LEFT HAND LANE. Yeah. That one. Move. Over. That lane is for people who have places to be. HOW MANY TIMES MUST I SAY THIS?

And now that I’ve ranted over something you probably could care less to hear about, on to a more relevant pet peeve. I truly can’t stand spending an exorbitant amount of money on herbs when I really need only a couple tablespoons. Like basil. I recently ended up with a ___load of basil and no idea what to do with it. Which is when I Googled “basil recipes” and found out that pesto is made out of basil. I find it slightly embarrassing that I didn’t already know that. But it does explain why pesto is so…green.

So I’m not a huge fan of store-bought pesto, but I have to say, this one was pretty damn good. And the best part is it freezes well, so I’ve got at least two more meals worth waiting for me there. One point for the lazy chef!

So listen, I added my basil to store-bought tortellini (but it was that all-organic Cucina Fresca brand, so save your judgement), but you can use pesto on just about anything — regular pasta, burgers, pizza, you name it. Get creative, friends.

photo 3

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups packed fresh basil leaves
  • 2 cloves garlic, peeled
  • 1/4 cup pine nuts
  • 2/3 cup evoo*, divided
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste
  • 1/2 cup freshly grated Pecorino cheese (plus more for garnish if using on pasta)

Instructions:

Combine the basil, garlic, and pine nuts in a food processor and pulse until coarsely chopped. Add 1/2 cup of the oil and process until fully incorporated and smooth. Season with salt and pepper.

If using immediately, add all the remaining oil and pulse until smooth. Transfer the pesto to a large serving bowl and mix in the cheese.

If freezing, transfer to an air-tight container and drizzle remaining oil over the top. Freeze for up to 3 months. Thaw and stir in cheese. (You guys obviously know I was too lazy to follow this step. I added everything, including the cheese, and froze it. I have no clue how it will turn out, but I didn’t feel like wasting the rest of the cheese so I’m chancing it. What you decide is up to you.)

Yields: Roughly 1-2 cups

Recipe from: The Food Network

*From now on, if you see “evoo”, it stands for extra-virgin olive oil. Also, if I had to actually explain that to you, I’m not sure a cooking blog is the best place for you.

3 thoughts on “5-Minute Basil Pesto

  1. Pingback: Grilled Greek Pizza | Peonies and Pomegranates

  2. Pingback: Creamy Pesto Tortellini with Broccoli | Peonies and Pomegranates

  3. Pingback: End of Summer Bean + Corn Burgers With Pesto | Peonies and Pomegranates

Leave a Reply

