Fig, Apple, Pecan + White Cheddar Salad

I don’t know about you, but up until 2 weeks ago, my only experience with figs had been Fig Newtons. Which, while delicious, are not entirely representative of a real fig.

photo 1

Enter: Whole Foods. WHY is it that I can walk into Whole Foods with a single, solitary item on my grocery list and come out with exotic things like figs (never tried them before), hatch chiles (also never had), and cheese that I don’t even know how to pronounce? Oh, and tomatoes. Again. Which, I believe I’ve mentioned, I don’t even like.

The point is, somewhere along the way I ended up with figs, and aside from eating them plain, I had no idea what to do with them. A few Google searches later, I came up with this salad. It screams “late summer/early fall” to me, and it was perfectly delicious. Totally worth the $5 I spent on ONE basket of figs. Oh, Whole Foods…

photo 2

Ingredients:

  • 4 c. spinach (or field green of your choice)
  • 4 oz. sharp white cheddar cheese (I used Beecher’s Flagship), chopped into pieces
  • 1/4 c. candied pecans — make them yourself if you’ve got nothing better to do with your time. Otherwise, buy them from the store like I did. It was Real Housewives of Beverly Hills Reunion night an important CNN documentary on TV, ok?! I was running out of time!
  • 1/2 an apple, sliced very thinly
  • 10 figs, quartered
  • dressing of your choosing — I used a lovely little pear vinaigrette (Whole Foods strikes again)

Instructions:

Combine first five ingredients into a medium mixing bowl. Toss lightly with dressing and split between two plates. Enjoy!

Yields: 2 servings

Recipe from: Yours truly

Leave a Reply

