Japanese Curry with Chicken + Vegetables

There is absolutely no good way to take a picture of curry and make it look appetizing. Close your eyes and pretend with me, will ya?

photo(3)

So, yesterday when I said I was twerking out with excitement because fall is on its way in? I wasn’t even remotely kidding. And if I’m being entirely honest with you, that has a lot to do with the food that comes along with fall. Warm and hearty soups, baked goods, hot chocolates, pumpkin spice lattes…they don’t call those extra holiday season pounds a “winter coat” for nothin’.

This recipe, to me, is one of those perfect warm and hearty meals for a cold day (yes, I know it’s still 80 degrees outside, but hey — maybe I have some blog followers in Alaska). I made this back when I was sick because nothing else sounded good to me. It’s warm, comforting, and it requires hardly any ingredients which was a major plus for my bed-ridden self.

Feel free to add more vegetables, substitute beef or pork for chicken, whatever your little heart desires (I’m thinking next time I make it I will add broccoli for some added color). This is just the way it was first served to me, by a friend (and his wife) who is Japanese. They tell me this is the traditional way you would eat it in Japan, but hell, I say make your own rules.

Ingredients:

  • 2 lbs chicken thigh or breast meat
  • 1-2 cloves of garlic
  • 2 medium onions
  • 2-3 medium potatoes
  • 2-3 medium carrots (this is probably more than a traditional Japanese person would use, but remember what I said about making your own rules?
  • 1 box instant Japanese curry mix/squares (8.5 oz) — I use Golden Curry brand. You can use mild or medium, which ever you prefer.
    golden_curry
  • Cooking oil
  • Salt and pepper
  • Hot cooked rice (I usually mix brown and white and cook it in the rice cooker so it gets sticky)

Instructions:

  1. Pre-cooking preparation:  Cut chicken into bite-size pieces and sprinkle with salt and pepper; Chop garlic clove; Cut onion into wedges; Peel potatoes and carrot and cut into bite-size chunks.
  2. Sauté/Stir-fry: Heat 1-2 T oil in skillet.  Before it’s hot, add garlic and lightly sauté. Add onions and continue to sauté.  Add chicken.  Stir-fry together until onions are tender and chicken is cooked through. Set aside. Using the same skillet, lightly stir-fry potatoes and carrot until light brown.  Add small amount of oil if necessary.
  3. Making the Stew: Transfer all cooked ingredients into a 3-quart saucepan or Dutch oven and cover with water (the recipe book suggests 6 cups).  Cover with a lid and cook over low heat for 20-30 minutes, or until vegetables are completely cooked.  Periodically remove any “frothy scum” that accumulates on top of the mixture.
  4. Adding the Curry: Turn off heat.  To speed up the melting of the curry squares, I slice the curry squares lengthwise and then chop the lengths perpendicularly so the ru is left in small crumbly pieces.  Sprinkle the ru all over the top of the stew pot and then actively  mix in, being careful not to chop up the potatoes or carrots.
  5. Serve Hot:  As the curry mixture starts to cool, it will thicken.  But, we like curry best served piping hot.  Serve over cooked hot Japanese rice.

Yields: 4-6 servings

Recipe from: The lovely Mr. and Mrs. Hainu

*This recipe freezes well! I always serve enough for about 4 people and freeze the rest!

 

Leave a Reply

