August Book of the Month

Oh, I’m sorry, does that title say “August”? And is it really September already? WHERE IS ALL THE TIME GOING? I went to the grocery store last night (and bought $43 worth of groceries I absolutely did NOT need. Like tomatoes. I don’t even LIKE tomatoes) and there were HALLOWEEN DECORATIONS out already. Next thing you know, you’ll blink and it will be the day after Christmas and I’ll be crying because I can’t believe my favorite season passed so quickly. Again.

Um, can we just slow down for a hot minute? Like, really. Where did summer go? But as soon as I find myself wishing there were a few more weeks of sandals and sundresses, I start twerking out like Miley Cyrus at the VMA’s because I’m so excited for fall. Except not really like Miley, because that girl is R-A-U-N-C-H-Y. And I’m all FALL, FOOTBALL, PUMPKIN SPICED LATTES, BAKING, CUDDLING BY THE FIRE. And Miley’s all IMMA BACK THAT THANG UP ON A GUY WHO IS WAYYYY TOO OLD FOR ME WITH MY WEIRD TONGUE STICKING OUT SIDEWAYS IN FRONT OF MILLIONS OF PEOPLE. AND MY MOTHER.

Also, whyyyy is Liam Hemsworth still engaged to her? Doesn’t he know he could do so much better? Ahem, cough cough, I’m single.

And this is the way my mind works. Quite frankly, it’s exhausting.

Anywho, the point is that I got a little behind on my blogging, my reading, my cooking…well, the list goes on. It’s been, oh, 7 weeks? 8 weeks? since I had pneumonia and I am running out of excuses to not be behaving like a functioning member of society. So let’s just pretend I posted this back when it was still August and I wasn’t twerking out so much. Without further ado, I present:

lof

Loved loved this book. Here’s the description: The Victorian language of flowers was used to convey romantic expressions: honeysuckle for devotion, asters for patience, and red roses for love. But for Victoria Jones, it’s been more useful in communicating mistrust and solitude. After a childhood spent in the foster-care system, she is unable to get close to anybody, and her only connection to the world is through flowers and their meanings. Now eighteen and emancipated from the system with nowhere to go, Victoria realizes she has a gift for helping others through the flowers she chooses for them. But an unexpected encounter with a mysterious stranger has her questioning what’s been missing in her life. And when she’s forced to confront a painful secret from her past, she must decide whether it’s worth risking everything for a second chance at happiness.

Believe me, it’s worth the read.

Leave a Reply

