(Kinda Homemade) Knock Your Socks Off Roasted Garlic + Onion + Mushroom Hummus

Ok, since it’s been, like, 472867174367 days since I’ve shared a recipe with you, I figure it’s time to get my act together. The best way I know how to do that? By letting you in on the most delicious hummus ever. See, I work with this guy, who happens to be damn near the most fabulous office manager in the history of office managers. Every girl needs a gay best friend, and I totes call dibs on him.

photo 3

So one day, probably in the midst of one those healthy eating phases I go through that never last all that long, I smell this smell coming from our office kitchen, and I kid you not, people were coming out of WOODWORK to figure out what was going on. And I’ll tell you exactly what was going on. It was Jeremy, whipping up a casual batch of the MOST AMAZING HUMMUS I’ve ever had, all trashed up with plenty of stuff mixed in. Don’t worry. I only ate 4 entire pitas with it. Didn’t overindulge or anything. I never do that.

Naturally, I insisted Jeremy share the recipe with me immediately. Like. NOW. Another thing about Jeremy? His idea of “sharing a recipe” is, “Oh you know, it’s a little of this, some more of that, and that’s it!” So I’ve done my best to recreate it. And to be honest, it’s pretty damn close. It’s not as good as his, but I’ll take it.

This is best served when all the toppings you mix in are still warm. Oh, and don’t forget to warm up your pita bread. Preferably by sauteing it in a pan with a little bit of Italian seasoning and olive oil like Jeremy does, but if you’re lazy, a microwave will work just fine. Also, you’re probably thinking this looks incredibly labor intensive for just hummus. That’s true. It is. I won’t lie. But it’s worth it. I swear.

*Note: this is trashy hummus with tons of deliciousness mixed in. If you like smooth, creamy, lacking any substance (read: boring) hummus without any magical chunks of magicalness, you won’t like this. Please leave.

Ingredients:

  • 10 oz. plain hummus — this is why I say “kinda homemade”. Because you don’t make the actual hummus, you just doctor it up with awesomeness.
  • 1 large onion
  • 2 heads of garlic
  • 1/3 cup pine nuts
  • 1/2 cup roughly chopped mushrooms
  • fresh basil — about 10-15 leaves
  • 1 tbs. Sriracha
  • Olive oil

Instructions:

Roast your garlic and onion in olive oil. Don’t worry, I didn’t know how to do this either, but it’s SUPER easy and makes your house smell TO DIE FOR. I know you don’t believe me because garlic and onions are foul, but trust me on this. Remember what I said about people coming out of the woodwork? Yeah. It’s true.

  1.  To roast the garlic and onion, preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Remove loose skin from garlic heads and onion. Cut the top off the garlic. photo 1Place on large square of aluminum foil. Drizzle with olive oil. Wrap into a foil pouch. Slice the onion into 1/2-inch thick slices, and again, place on tin foil, drizzle with olive oil, then wrap in tin foil pouch. photo 2
  2. Place both pouches on cookie sheet. Bake for 45 minutes to an hour, or until golden brown.photo
  3. Allow to cool slightly, and then you can squeeze the garlic right out of the cloves. photo 4

While your garlic and onion is roasting, you can prepare the mushroom mixture. Add a tablespoon of olive oil to a pan and then add your mushrooms. After 5 minutes, add pine nuts. Saute until mushrooms are soft, and then at the last minute, add in your basil leaves. Remove from heat.

Once the garlic and onion is ready, all you have to do is mix it all together. Begin by scooping your plain hummus into a medium large bowl, and then chop up your onion mixture. The onions should be very soft (almost caramelized) so this shouldn’t be much of a feat. Squeeze your roasted garlic out of the cloves straight into the hummus. Stir in 2/3 of your mushroom mixture. Mix feverishly. Add the remaining mushroom mixture on top, and then drizzle with Sriracha and olive oil (if desired). Serve immediately with pita bread or crackers.

Yields: A lot. Like, enough for a party.

Recipe from: The ever fabulous Jeremy. And I already called dibs, so don’t bother trying to steal him from me.

One thought on “(Kinda Homemade) Knock Your Socks Off Roasted Garlic + Onion + Mushroom Hummus

  1. Pingback: Jessica’s Lemony Fresh Homemade Hummus | Peonies and Pomegranates

Leave a Reply

