Simply Grilled Salmon with Soy Sauce + Brown Sugar Glaze

Salmon. Oh how I love and hate thee, all at the same time. Smoked salmon? Get in my face now. Boring salmon seasoned with lemon juice, salt and pepper? I’ll pass, thanks.

photo 3

I don’t know what it is, but I just can’t get on board with salmon that doesn’t have a little somethin somethin going on. So when I came across this soy + brown sugar glazed salmon, I figured it was worth a shot. And also? It rocked. The marinade was simple enough to not overpower the flavor of the salmon, but had just enough of that extra flavor I need if I’m going to be eating something as healthy as grilled salmon.

Bonus? I already had all the marinade ingredients in my cupboard. Yet, somehow I still managed to find a way to spend $50 at the grocery store. Because who DOESN’T need all those extra things like patriotic headbands and red, white and blue mason jars?

photo 4

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 pounds salmon fillets
  • lemon pepper to taste
  • garlic powder to taste
  • salt to taste
  • 1/3 cup soy sauce
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 tbs. fresh lemon juice

Instructions:

  1. Season salmon fillets with lemon pepper, garlic powder, and salt.
  2. In a small bowl, stir together soy sauce, brown sugar, water, and vegetable oil until sugar is dissolved. Place fish in a large resealable plastic bag with the soy sauce mixture, seal, and turn to coat. Refrigerate for at least 2 hours (I only did one hour and it turned out fine, but the longer, the better).
  3. Preheat grill for medium heat.
  4. Lightly oil grill grate. Place salmon on the preheated grill, flesh side down — this will allow the brown sugar to glaze the salmon and seal in the juices. After about 7 minutes, flip salmon for another 6-8 minutes, or until the fish flakes easily with a fork.

Yields: 6 servings

Recipe adapted from: All Recipes

Leave a Reply

