Tuesday Shirt-day

You guys ready for a departure from the normal Tuesday Shoesday post? I promise, it’s worth it. Even if I do say so myself.

photo 5

So, as you may have noticed from my recent posts, like this one and this one, I’m a little excited about the 4th of July. But all the excitement came to a screeching halt when I realized I had nothing patriotic to wear. Of course I have plenty of red, white and blue clothing, but I really wanted my patriotism to be IN YOUR FACE this year. So my roomie found this tutorial (via Pinterest, obvi) on how to make your own flag tank top. And I did. Like, all by myself. I did a craft. That didn’t involve food. This is BIG for me.

So in case any of you lovelies were feeling a little panicked about your patriotic wardrobe, get yourself a tank top and some spray paint and make your own. It’s easy. And dare I say….fun? Just kidding. It wasn’t that fun. But the wine helped.

Things you’ll need:

  • A white tank top (or t-shirt)
  • Star stickers
  • Red and blue spray paint
  • Painter’s tape
  • Cardboard

Instructions:

Slide a piece of cardboard inside the shirt. For the red part tape off stripes and make sure to cover up the part you want to make blue.

photo 1

After the red has dried, take off only the tape that’s over the section where you want blue and tape over the surrounding red parts. Lay down your star stickers and spray your blue paint over the top.

photo 2

photo 3

Wait for paint to dry. Remove tape and stickers. Voila!

photo 4

One thought on “Tuesday Shirt-day

Leave a Reply

