July Book of the Month

Sooooo I stayed up until 12:30 AM last night. Reading. And crying. And laughing. And reading some more. And laughing while crying. Because this book? It’s that good.

art of racing 900

I know what you’re thinking right now. Oh great, here she goes again, talking about dogs. But this is different. This book was AMAZING. It was a fast read too, which is perfect for these lazy summer days spent at the beach. Or by the pool. Or mud puddle. Whatever.

Also yes, it was a New York Times best seller for like, 156 weeks and I’m way behind the curve on this one. But just go with it, ok?

It’s the story of Enzo the dog, who, on the eve of his death, recalls everything he has been through in his life and is convinced that after his death, his soul will return in a human’s body. And y’all, I can’t say enough about this book. I know, I thought it sounded weird too. A story, told through the eyes of a dog? That’s only for crazy dog people. But then I remembered I AM a crazy dog person. But even if I were normal? I’d still love this book.

“To live every day as if it had been stolen from death, that is how I would like to live. To feel the joy of life, as Eve felt the joy of life. To separate oneself from the burden, the angst, the anguish that we all encounter every day. To say I am alive, I am wonderful, I am. I am. That is something to aspire to. When I am a person, that is how I will live my life.” -Enzo

Buy it. Read it. And keep some Kleenex handy.

One thought on “July Book of the Month

  1. Didn’t you think that Enzo’s viewpoint on life was very Buddhist? Great story of a dog going through an existential crisis. Loved it 🙂

Leave a Reply

