New England Style Lobster Roll

As I mentioned yesterday, I just returned from a long weekend in my happy place…also known as Boston. What is it about that city that has me so madly in love with it?

photo 2

Sadly, we weren’t there long enough to make it up to the beach in Maine, but when you can’t go straight to the beach, then having fresh Maine lobster + steamers at home is about the next best thing. Pair those two with some Irish music and cold beer and you’ve got yourself one happy girl. photo 1

This is exactly how we spent Father’s Day with my grandpa and extended family, and if you were wondering what the 2nd best thing is to steamed lobster, I’ll tell you…lobster ROLLS. Oh lordy, how I love these. And I enjoy them most when they’re simply prepared, just like the recipe below. My mom actually made these with the leftover lobster from the day before, and OHMIGOD they were to die for. So, if you find yourself lucky enough to have some fresh lobster meat, then please, I beg of you: make these. And do yourself a favor while you’re at it — make extra. You’ll want more than one.

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 lbs. (preferably freshly cooked) lobster meat, cut into chunks
  • 2 stalks of celery, diced small
  • 3-4 tbs. mayonnaise
  • 2 tsp. fresh lemon juice
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 4 New England style hot dog buns (the ones that are split down the top)
  • 2-3 tbs. butter

Instructions:

Gently fold the first 4 ingredients together and season lightly with salt and pepper. It may not seem like enough mayo, but trust me, you really want to let the taste of lobster shine through and not overpower it with mayonnaise.

Lightly brush the hot dog rolls on each side with butter. Place on a griddle or grill and toast until golden brown. Divide the lobster salad evenly among each roll.

Wipe drool off mouth. Consume. Send me one of the leftovers. Immediately. Puhleeeasseee?

Yields: 4 servings

Recipe from: I got it from my mama

Leave a Reply

