Strawberry Basil Margaritas

I can’t remember if I’ve ever told you how much I love summertime and margaritas (I kid, I keeeeed). I’ve probably mentioned tequila many more times on this little blog than I’d care to admit to my parole officer, but here I go again talking about tequila.

I don’t really have a parole officer. Did you believe me though? Even for a second?

photo(2)

I made these on Saturday by the pitcher for that bachelorette party that I’m not sure I told you about (again, I joke I joke, I kid I keeeed) and they were reallyyyy good. Minimal ingredients, which is a priority for me, refreshing, and for those of you who don’t love Jose like I do, they mask the tequila flavor almost entirely. They were also really pretty. In fact, I meant to take more pictures of them once the strawberries turned them a little more pink, but…well, what can I say? It was a bachelorette party, and we all know that the pictures taken at bachelorette parties don’t always turn out the way we want them to…

Ingredients:

  • 1 can (12 ounces) frozen limeade concentrate
  • 10 strawberries (or 12 if you’re using smaller ones from the farmer’s market)
  • 8 basil leaves
  • 2 to 2 1/2 cups tequila (gold or silver)

Instructions:

Empty the limeade concentrate into a pitcher. Add 2 1/2 cans of water and 1 1/2 cans (which is 2 1/4 cups) of tequila, or a bit less, if you don’t want your drinks to be quite as strong. I’m just kidding about that last part. Who doesn’t want a stiff margarita? No one, that’s who. Which is why I did 3 cups of tequila. Which is also why one or eight of the girls got just a tad too tipsy. Sorry I’m not sorry.

Hull the strawberries, slice lengthwise, and add to the pitcher. Crumple the basil a little in your hands (this will help the basil flavor release into the drink) and add it to the pitcher, too. Place the pitcher, covered, in the fridge overnight, or for at least four hours.

When you remove the pitcher from the fridge, your margaritas will be a lovely pale pink color. Unless, like I mentioned, you’re at a bachelorette party and you have no time for such silliness. In that case, drink immediately. I promise not to judge.

Yields: about 1 pitcher, or 8 servings

Recipe from: The Kitchn

Leave a Reply

