Teriyaki Chicken Shish Kabobs on the Grill

Good morning lovelies, and Happy Monday. No, you’re not seeing things…I just put “happy” and “Monday” in the same sentence. I had a bit of an emotionally challenging week last week, and then one of my girlfriends reminded me of my favorite Irish proverb: “A good laugh and a long sleep are the two best cures for anything.” If those don’t work, resort to Irish whiskey. I did all of the above this weekend, and I’m feeling refreshed, recharged and ready for the world.

Also, the BACHELORETTE PARTY is finally here this weekend! So I have that to look forward to all week. So yeah. I’m feelin’ pretty good about life.

Anyway, back to the food. Did I spell that right? “Shish kabobs”? Sheeeesh kabobs? Shish ka-bob?

Skewers. There.

photo 4

Remember back when I shared my mom’s flank steak recipe and promised you that it’s good on just about anything? Well, it is. And to prove my point, I made it on chicken skewers. And true to form, this marinade did not disappoint. It has a teriyaki flavor to it but without being overpowering, and it it such a perfect summer meal on the BBQ. Throw in a couple ice cold beers and you’ve got yourself a quick, easy meal.

Ingredients (for the marinade):

  • 1/4 c. reduced sodium soy sauce
  • 3/4 c. olive oil
  • 3 tbs. honey
  • 2 tbs. vinegar
  • 1 1/2 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp. ginger
  • 1 chopped green onion
  • 1 1/2 lbs. chicken breast, cut into 1 or 2-inch chunks

For the skewers:

  • 2-3 bell peppers (I always use red, green and yellow), chopped into 2-inch chunks
  • 1 onion, cut into 2-inch chunks
  • 15 or so mushrooms, whole
  • Extra meat, if desired — I sometimes add chicken sausage, steak, etc.
  • Skewers — if you have metal ones, use those. If not, you can buy disposable wooden skewers at the store; just make sure to soak them in water for about 20 min prior so they don’t catch on fire

Instructions:

photo 1

Combine all marinade ingredients into a large zip-lock bag or Tupperware container and add your chicken. Marinate chicken at least 3 hours (or overnight). Once the meat is done marinating, add your chopped vegetables to the bag/plastic container and shake a few times to coat the veggies. *Do not let the veggies marinate overnight with the meat or they (especially the mushrooms) will be too soggy to skewer.

Preheat BBQ and clean it. Thread chicken and vegetables alternately onto the skewers. Continue this pattern until you have filled all your skewers and used up all your meat/veggies.

photo 2

Grill on the BBQ until chicken is cooked through and juices run clear, about 12-15 minutes.

photo 3

Enjoy!

Yields: 4 servings

Recipe from: I got it from my mama

Leave a Reply

