Queso Blanco Dip

Sooooo remember back when I mentioned that one of the two foods in this world that I have absolutely zero self control over when presented to me is cheese dip?

Also, was that a super long run on sentence that you had to read more than once? I get excited when talking about cheese dip. Sorry I’m not sorry.

photo 4

Another fun fact: one of my not-so-secret dreams in life is to move to San Diego. Coronado, specifically, if for no other reason than Miguel’s Cocina. You guyssss. This place is to die for. If you order a margarita, not only do they bring you a huge margarita glass full, but they also bring a shaker full of more margarita. It’s basically like a 2-for-1 deal. And these margaritas do not mess around. It’s good shit, man.

My other favorite thing about Miguel’s? You guessed it. The cheese dip. It’s white, which for some reason is so much better (and not because I’m racist) and spicy and I could swim in it. Literally. Just cheese dip to the face, please.

So when I came across this recipe for Queso Blanco, there was no turning back. I’m planning to serve it at Laura’s upcoming bachelorette party, but figured I better experiment first, so I served it at my brother’s birthday party. To say it was a hit would be a gross understatement. Seriously. We put that stuff on everything and swallowed it whole. This could also account for my once again terrible foodie pictures. I was too busy stuffing my face to worry about getting a good shot.

So please make this. Now. And don’t blame me when your jeans don’t fit tomorrow.

Disclaimer: this dip is not exactly like Miguel’s. Someday I will make out with and/or flash a Miguel’s waiter just to get that recipe. And then I will promptly post it here.

photo 5

Ingredients:

  • 1 Tbsp cooking oil (veggie, olive, canola – whatever you have)
  • 1/4 cup white onion, diced
  • 1 large jalapeno or serrano, seeds and stem removed; diced — now, I like a little spiciness to my dip, so I left the seeds. Use your best judgement.
  • 12 oz white American cheese (I have the deli give me 3 slices on the # 10 setting — they will know what this means), shredded
  • 4 oz Monterrey Jack cheese, shredded (optional; don’t use pre-shredded)
  • 1/4-2/3 cup cream, half-and-half, or whole milk
  • 1 roma tomato, seeds removed and diced

Instructions:

Heat the oil in a saute pan. Cook the onion and pepper until softened and reduce heat to medium-low. Add the shredded cheese and 1/4 cup of the cream. Stir until mostly melted.

photo 2

At some point after you add the cheese, the dip will start to resemble a consistency (see below picture) that you might not even serve to your worst enemy. You will start to curse my name and wonder why you ever trusted me with such an important thing as cheese dip. Persevere, my friends. I promise, all those gross chunks will melt down into gooey deliciousness.

photo 3
Add the tomatoes, and additional cream a little at a time until you reach desired consistency.

Serve on anything your little heart desires (but to avoid strange looks from family members, it’s best to start with tortilla chips).

Yields: 2 cups

Recipe from: Confessions of a Foodie Bride

Leave a Reply

