Mom’s Flank Steak + Crispy Baked Onion Rings

So. My mom’s kinda a good cook.

photo 4

And by kinda, I mean really a good cook. We’re not talking fancy, Julia Child-type food. No, this is comfort food at its best. And anytime I’m feeling like I need a pick-me-up, I throw my overnight bag and my dog in the car and head home. Because to me, nothing beats a night at home laughing with my family, drinking some adult beverages and enjoying homemade comfort food.

So let’s talk about this steak. We almost always have people over at our house for dinner. Friends of mine, friends of my brothers, my dad’s co-pilot who had no one to hang out with for a night, or even the random {kinda cute} guy from my college history class a few years ago who mentioned he had no where to go for Christmas so instead came home with me….yeah, our family gives that saying ‘the more the merrier’ a whole new meaning. And whenever we have company, this steak is what my mom makes. It’s good. Like absurdly good. And the marinade works with just about anything. Steak, chicken, skewers, you name it. Seriously, friends, my mom is known for this steak.

photo 3

And the onion rings? Ummm. I die. Because they’re crunchy. Like onion rings should be. But they’re not fried. Which makes them…healthy? Ok fine, maybe not healthy, per se, but better for you than deep-fried. And yes, I know they use white flour, so they’re not clean, but again, sometimes you just need an onion ring. And if said onion ring doesn’t need to be deep-fried? Such a win in my book.

So please make this meal. Now.

For the steak…

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 c. reduced sodium soy sauce
  • 3/4 c. olive oil
  • 3 tbs. honey
  • 2 tbs. vinegar
  • 1 1/2 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp. ginger (I use the dried spice, but I’m sure you could use fresh ginger)
  • 1 chopped green onion
  • 1 1/2 lbs. flank steak

Combine all ingredients into a large zip-lock bag or Tupperware container. Marinate at least 4 hours or overnight. Grill on the BBQ to your preference, then slice on the diagonal very thin. Stuff your face.

photo 1

For the onion rings…

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons smoked paprika
  • 2 teaspoons kosher salt
  • 2 teaspoons freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 cups buttermilk
  • 4 eggs
  • 3 cups panko breadcrumbs
  • 4 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 large yellow sweet onions, such as Maui, sliced 1/4-to-1/2-inch thick

photo 2Instructions:

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees F. Place parchment paper onto 2 baking sheets and set aside.In a small bowl, combine the flour, paprika, pepper and 1 teaspoons salt. In another bowl or shallow dish, whisk together the buttermilk and eggs. Add half of the flour mixture to the buttermilk and beat until smooth and thickened.In a separate bowl, combine the panko, olive oil and remaining teaspoon of salt.

Lightly dredge the onion rings in the flour mixture and then drop into the buttermilk. Drain the excess batter really well and then dredge in the panko mixture. I actually mixed my panko and kept most in a bowl only putting what I needed on a plate. As it got lumpy on the plate, I just threw that away and poured more from the bowl.

Also, it’s really important to drain the batter as much as possible before dunking in the panko, or else you end up with a gooey mess.

Arrange on the prepared baking sheets in a single layer. You can place smaller rings inside bigger rings if necessary, just make sure there is space between them. Then place in the oven. Cook until golden brown, 14 to 20 minutes. Halfway through the cooking time, flip over each onion ring to ensure even crisping and browning.

Yields: 4 servings
Flank steak recipe: I got it from my mama
Onion ring recipe from: The Food Network
3 thoughts on “Mom’s Flank Steak + Crispy Baked Onion Rings

  1. Pingback: Strawberry Avocado Spinach Salad | Peonies and Pomegranates

Leave a Reply

