No Bake Granola Bar Bites

Confession: there are some foods in this world that I absolutely have no self control over when they are presented to me. Two foods, actually, to be precise. One is Velveeta cheese dip. The other is no bake cookies.

photo 2 (10)

Neither of said foods are “clean” foods. And when I saw this recipe for healthy granola bar bites, I knew I wanted to try them, but had no idea that they would rock.my.world.

They taste like no bake cookies. And they feel like you’re eating raw cookie dough. Which in my world, might be the next best thing to….well, you know. Also, they take 5 minutes to prepare. Which is a lot less time than that other best thing I just mentioned (hopefully).

I very closely followed the original recipe the first time I made them, but I’m thinking next time I’ll add some protein powder to make them even healthier. You could also do dried fruits, nuts, flax…whatever fits your fancy. It’s the best healthy snack I’ve come across since, well, forever. Seriously, if you like no bake cookies, or eating raw cookie dough, make these. Now.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 c. peanut or almond butter
  • 1/4 c. pure maple syrup
  • 1 c. unsweetened coconut — I don’t like coconut, so I just added some extra oats to get the right consistency. However, like I mentioned above, you could try other ingredients like protein powder
  • 1 c. rolled oats
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 tsp. cocoa powder
  • pinch of salt
  • small handful of dark chocolate chips

Combine all the ingredients into a medium sized bowl. Chill in the fridge for 30 minutes. Remove from fridge, roll into small balls, and store in the freezer. They’ll stay good for up to 3 weeks.

Yields: Well, that’s a tricky one you see, because I am pretty sure I ate close to half the mixture before it even went into the fridge to chill….

If you have better self-control than I do, I’d guess the recipe yields 12 small balls.

Also, that’s twice in one post I said the phrase “small balls” without making a crude joke. There may be hope for me after all.

Recipe barely adapted from: Simply Real Health

3 thoughts on “No Bake Granola Bar Bites

  1. Pingback: Queso Blanco Cheese Dip | Peonies and Pomegranates

    • They’re amazing! I’ve been telling everyone I know about them. Thanks for the recipe — your blog (and food) is so great! Now you need to share the flat bread recipe you made for Cami’s bridal shower… šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

