Uncle Terry’s Steak Tips

photo 1 (6)

A loud, Italian guy from Boston marries an even louder, Irish girl from Boston. Folks, meet my aunt and uncle.

Lemme tell you a little something about Uncle Terry. This guy could probably turn a pile of dirt into the most wonderful meal you’ve ever had. I mean really, the guy can cook. If it weren’t for him, I don’t know that I ever would have tried steamer clams, grilled lamb, moonshine, marinated artichoke with melted mozzarella cheese (seriously, amazing appetizer. And SO easy), and Coronitas. Oh, not familiar with a Coronita? It’s a frozen margarita, with a Corona stuck upside in it. Not even kidding. Stick one of those in my hand as I breathe my last breath and I’ll die a happy girl.

282235_10101290375214628_1311990452_n

Last summer, we all headed down to Georgia for a family reunion/my cousin’s high school graduation party. I could dedicate an entire post alone to the amazing food we had down there (think: BBQ like you’ve never experienced, shrimp boil, fried okra, biscuits and gravy…OK, I’ll stop now), but for now, I’ll stick with the steak tips.

I truly believe everyone should have at least a few never-fail recipes for entertaining. This steak is one of those recipes for me, partially because it’s only two main ingredients (no, I’m not lying) and is the easiest thing in the world to throw together in a pinch. I’ve made them over and over again since last summer — for myself, for guests, for everyone who eats steak. The picture above is from last week (the steak picture, not the margarita picture…I wish), when I was craving sunshine and summertime, because the best way to eat them? Same way I did the first time I had them. During the summer, in a swimsuit, by the pool, with your bare hands when the steak is fresh off the grill. Don’t have a pool? It’s OK. They’ll still be good.

Ingredients:

  • 2 lbs. of steak, either New York or Tri Tip
  • 1 bottle of KC Masterpiece “Steakhouse” marinade
  • Kosher salt & freshly ground pepper, if desired

Instructions:

Trim excess fat off the steak. Cut steak into chunks that are just larger than a couple bites worth. Throw into a plastic container or Ziploc bag with the entire bottle of marinade + salt & pepper, and let marinate for a minimum of an hour, but the longer the better. I try to always marinate mine overnight.

When you’re ready to cook up your steak tips, preheat the grill. Once it’s hot, throw the chunks onto the grill and cook to your preference. Remember, because these are smaller pieces of steak, they will cook more quickly than normal.

Serve with ice cold beer and/or a margarita. Preferably together.

photo 2 (5)

Yields: Roughly 4-5 servings.

Leave a Reply

