“Winter is Coming” Fish Tacos with Avocado-Pineapple Salsa

House-Stark-game-of-thrones-20434997-1280-800

Confession: I am shamelessly addicted to Game of Thrones. Not just the TV shows, the books too. Like, so addicted that when I was reading the books I would stay up until 1 AM to read “one more chapter”. My darling boyfriend just didn’t quite understand, and would try to tell me it was time for bed, so I’d turn off the light, wait for his snoring (<— lucky girl), and then go hide in the bathroom to keep reading. I know. It’s a problem.

Season three starts again this Sunday, and if I didn’t think I would lose half the followers of this little blog, I would dedicate an entire post to how excited I am. Instead, I’ll relate Game of Thrones to food. Because I am a nerd like that. Don’t judge.

House Stark’s family words (in Game of Thrones, of course) are “winter is coming”, meaning there are tough times ahead. That’s kinda how I feel about food right now. It’s officially spring, which means summer is coming. Which means swimsuit season. Which means lately when I consider what to make for dinner, a little voice in my head ominously whispers, “Summer is coming”. Which is why the recipe below is for grilled fish tacos, instead of the infinitely more preferable fried fish tacos.

photo 4 (2)If you’re part of the 1% that everyone is talking about lately and were blessed with good metabolism, go on ahead and deep-fry your beer battered fish. If you’re in the 99% percent with me, grill the fish. Oh, that’s not what that whole 1% thing is about? Whatever. Go with it.

These were seriously delicious. The picture, once again, doesn’t do them justice. They can be made with any white fish (cod, halibut, etc.) — I’d recommend going with whatever is on sale. The “salsa” I made can also be adjusted based on your preferences. You could add cilantro and onion, but those are two of my least favorite foods in the entire world. Truly, the day you see a recipe on here that includes cilantro and/or raw onion will be a cold day in hell.

I served these with pinto beans, homemade tortillas (don’t bother being impressed — it’s just Maseca flour + water + a tortilla press that I bought because I apparently have nothing better to spend my money on), the salsa, Mexican sour cream, and topped them off with a little bit of shredded cabbage. Delish.

Recipe:

  • 2 avocados, diced into cubes
  • 1/2 – 3/4 cup finely diced pineapple
  • 1/2 jalapeno, seeds and ribs removed, finely chopped
  • 1/2 a red pepper, finely chopped
  • 1/2 cup of yellow corn
  • 1/8 tsp. chili powder
  • juice of one lime
  • Hot sauce to taste
  • 1 pound white fish — I’d recommend cutting this up into a couple smaller fillets to make it easier to cook in the pan. Unless you have an enormous pan. In which case I envy you.
  • 1 Tbs olive oil
  • Tortilla chips to stuff your face with while you prepare dinner. And to taste test, of course.

photo 2 (2)

Instructions:

In a medium bowl, combine all the ingredients listed above except the fish and the olive oil. Taste test with tortilla chips. Make adjustments based on your preferences. Test again with more chips. Now put the chips away before you ruin your dinner.

Pat the fish dry with paper towels and then season liberally with salt and pepper. Add 1-2 Tbs. olive oil to your pan and allow to get hot, but not to the point of smoking. I repeat, not to the point of smoking. In case you were wondering, throwing cold water on a hot pan of oil will NOT help. Lesson learned. Add fish to the pan and allow to cook, without moving, for 2-3 minutes, or until they are very light golden-brown. Very carefully flip the fish with a spatula. Continue to cook until fish is opaque throughout and flakes easily with a fork.  The cooking time will vary based on the thickness of the fish, but it should be about 3-5 more minutes.

To assemble, warm your tortillas and fill with fish.  Drizzle with sour cream then top with avocado-pineapple salsa and shredded cabbage.  Serve with lime wedges and additional hot sauce if desired.

photo 3 (2)

Serves 2-4, depending how big your stomachs are.

Recipe adapted from: Well, I started here, and then I went here, and then I went here, and then I improvised.

One thought on ““Winter is Coming” Fish Tacos with Avocado-Pineapple Salsa

  1. I have to say that these tacos look Bomb.com. I will have to try this recipe ASAP. If you are looking for a great beer to go with your tacos then follow my blog for some of the best recommendations.

Leave a Reply

