Garlic and Lemon Pan Fried Chicken

pan fried chicken

Ok, I know what you’re thinking. You’re thinking I take terrible pictures of food. While I must agree with you, I never claimed to be a photographer. If you want pretty pictures of food, go elsewhere, because by the time I’m done preparing a meal, the last thing I want to do is spend 10 minutes figuring out how to take a presentable picture of it on my iPhone. Yes, iPhone. No fancy pants camera up in here. The other thing you could be thinking is that chicken isn’t all that exciting, and why am I dedicating my 2nd recipe post ever to chicken.

Well, I’ll tell you why. Because it’s quick, relatively healthy, and doesn’t include a list of 18367246827 ingredients. That’s a huge wine..I mean win…for me. But I did serve it with wine. Because I pretty much serve every meal with wine. Or beer. Or margaritas. Ooohh, margaritas sound good right now…

Sorry, back to the food. I also served this chicken with sauteed asparagus and my favorite brown rice (recipe to come), and it came together as a solid weeknight meal. That gets an ‘A’ in my book.

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 big cloves garlic, peeled and slightly smashed
  • 1/3 cup breadcrumbs (I used Italian breadcrumbs)
  • 2 tablespoons Parmesan cheese — finely grated works best
  • fresh lemon juice (from about half a lemon)
  • 1 egg
  • 2 chicken breast halves, pounded to 1/3 – 1/2 inch thickness is what what the original recipe called for. I just used one massive chicken breast and butterflied it, because honestly, pounding raw meat with a hammer in my kitchen kinda grosses me out. You do whatever your little heart desires — both ways work fine.

Instructions:

Heat a medium skillet over medium-low heat and add oil. When oil is hot, add garlic and cook, stirring occasionally, for about 7 minutes, until golden brown and softened. Remove the garlic with a slotted spoon and place in a small bowl. Smash with a fork and set aside.

Combine the breadcrumbs and parmesan in a shallow dish. Add a dash of salt and pepper. Add the egg and lemon juice to the smashed garlic and whisk to combine.

Heat the garlic oil over medium heat. Season the chicken with salt and pepper. Dip the chicken into the egg mixture, then the breadcrumb mixture. Once the oil is hot, add the chicken and cook about 2 1/2 minutes per side. Serve with slices or wedges of lemon, if desired.

Serves 2 people, but I doubled the recipe and packed leftovers for lunch the next day, because who doesn’t love soggy asparagus, reheated in the microwave?

Slightly adapted from: Cook Like a Champion

Leave a Reply

