{Healthy} Fish Sticks with Homemade Tartar Sauce

When I was a kid, fish sticks were one of those foods that absolutely disgusted me. Yes, I was that child, who would order a cheese burger at a seafood restaurant.

 photo 2

However, as I’ve grown out of being the pickiest eater around, I’ve fallen more and more in love with seafood. Especially if it’s fried. I mean, you could deep-fry a shoe and I’d probably be into it. Unfortunately, people keep telling me fried foods aren’t as nutritious as salads, so I had to find a way to satisfy the fish and chips craving I’ve been having.

Enter: these. I’ll be honest y’all, they’re not as good as true, deep fried fish and chips goodness. But they’re damn close. And the tartar? Same thing. I wanted an easy recipe I could throw together in five minutes. Mission accomplished. So if you’re looking for a quick fix, this is it.

Ingredients:

  • 3 white fish filets (cod/tilapia/etc)
  • 2 egg whites, beaten
  • 1 1/2 cups panko bread crumbs
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/4 cup parmesan cheese

For the tartar sauce:

  • 1 cup mayonaise
  • 1 tablespoon sweet relish
  • 1 tablespoon minced onion
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • salt and pepper to taste

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 450.

In a small bowl, mix together mayonnaise, sweet pickle relish, and minced onion. Stir in lemon juice. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Stick in fridge until your fish is ready.

Lay a wire rack on a baking sheet and spray it with non-stick spray. If you don’t have a wire rack (like me), line a cookie sheet with tin foil and spray with non-stick spray.

Cut the fish once down the middle, then in half, creating four “sticks.” Season with salt and pepper. In a bowl, beat the 2 egg whites. In a separate bowl, add the panko, salt, pepper and parmesan cheese. Dip each fish stick in egg whites, than in the panko mixture, pressing to adhere. Lay on the wire rack and spritz with olive oil.

Bake for 10 minutes, then flip and bake for 10 more minutes. Serve hot!

Fish stick recipe from: How Sweet It Is

Leave a Reply

